Home » New Victorian Multicultural Commissioners appointed

New Victorian Multicultural Commissioners appointed

by  Africa Media Australia

After the recent appointment of the new Chair of the Victorian Multicultural Commission, Viv Nugyen,  the Victorian  government welcomes eight new appointees to the Victorian Multicultural Commission.

Minister for Multicultural Affairs Richard Wynne stated “each commissioner had been recognised for their skills and lived experience championing cultural and religious diversity in the State. They come from a variety of new and established communities, representing various cultural and religious backgrounds and include former refugees and strong youth representation”.




The announcement comes shortly following the appointment of Chairperson Viv Nguyen last month.

The new appointees are:

  • Maria Dimopoulos, Deputy Chairperson
  • Khayshie Tilak Ramesh, Youth Commissioner (reappointed)
  • Mohammed Yassin, Community Organisation Representative Commissioner
  • Bwe Thay, Commissioner
  • Judy Tang, Commissioner
  • David Nyuol Vincent, Commissioner
  • Sankaran (Shankar) Kasynathan, Commissioner
  • Sisay Dinku, Commissioner (reappointed)

As the main conduit between multicultural communities and the government, the Commission advises the Minister on a broad range of issues facing our diverse communities.

The new  Victorian Multicultural Commission Chair Viv Nguyen stated: ” I am confident that together, we can achieve positive outcomes for all Victorians and promote the social, cultural and economic benefits of diversity in our state.”

The Commission also promotes the social, cultural and economic benefits of diversity, oversees a network of Regional Advisory Councils and delivers the state’s largest multicultural celebration, Cultural Diversity Week.

The new commissioners join current serving commissioners Tina Hosseini, Walter Rapoport and Rosaria Zarro.

You may also like