Home » VACA 2014: a successful event for African communities

VACA 2014: a successful event for African communities

by  Africa Media Australia

The  2014 Victorian African Community Awards took place on Saturday 25 October 2014 at Richmond townhall.




Approximately two hundred people attended the event organised by Africa Media Australia and partners  to showcase the impressive social, cultural and economic achievements of Victoria’s vibrant African-Australian communities.



The memorable gala night celebrated the contributions of notable professionals and achievers in 15 categories, with the awards judged by a distinguished cross-community panel.  Some important figures of Victoria’s government agencies and the not for profit sector attended the night, including Chin Tan, the Chairperson of the Victorian Multicultural Commission, Assitant Commissioner of Victoria Police Luke Cornelius, Jesuit Social Services’ CEO Julie edwards, amongst others.




The awardees for 2014 include :

Francis Acquah: Community Leadership  (category)

Nkandu Beltz: Women in Leadership

Hashi Kaar: Business and Enterepreneurship

Monica Forson: Youth Leadership

Theresa Ssali & Faduma Musse: Unsung/forgotten heroes

Zero Degrees: Artistic and individual talents

Majak Daw:  Best sport star

African Australian Inclusion Program  (project run by the NAB and Jesuit Social Services): Best project with a focus on Africans

Devine Restoration Church: Most proactive faith-based organisation

Gil-Soo Han and John Buddarick: Friends of Africans/Organisations supporting Africans

Moustapha Barry: Outstanding professional achievemnt (Engineering)

Kimani Boden : Outstanding professional achievemnt (Legal)

Dr. Kalumba Kongolo: Outstanding professional achievement (Medical/health)

Dr. Charles Mphande: Outstanding professionald achievement (Academia)

Dr. Nagassa Badasse: Oustanding professinoal achievement (Accounting)

The video for the event and more photos  will be published soon.

A full list of commendeable achievements will also be published to recognise other members of the community who are doing great work but who could not win an Award. This list will also include the names of the nominees.

For any enquiry, please contact Clyde on 0437724469.

There is no video for this posting yet.

You may also like